February, 2014

Convention Report

Margo Childs, MHMRA of Harris County
AAIDD Texas Chapter’s Convention Committee Chair

We’re planning a fabulous convention for you in the most festive city in Texas! The 39th Annual Convention of the AAIDD Texas Chapter is scheduled for July 22-25, 2014 at the Westin Riverwalk, surrounded by San Antonio’s best entertainment, shopping, and culture. Our Planning Committee is developing a convention that will be full of motivational information, fun activities, and resources to support persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD), their families, advocates, direct support staff and other professionals working in the IDD field.

 

The Call for Papers has been released and I encourage you to support AAIDD Texas Chapter by submitting presentations and/or recommending to your colleagues and friends in the IDD field to share their research, best practices, expertise, and leadership by submitting presentations for our Convention. Also, sponsorship gives you and/or your organization the opportunity to support AAIDD Texas Chapter’s Convention to enhance the quality of services and provide meaningful opportunities and choices for people with IDD and their families. Contact members of our Exhibitors/Sponsors sub-committee or any member of the Planning Committee to learn more about sponsorship. For more information, you may contact any of the following committee members.

 

39th Annual Convention Committee

Margo Childs

Chair/Program/Awards/Nominations

MHMRA of Harris County

margo.childs@mhmraharris.org

 

Jermaine East

Awards/Nominations/Exhibitors/Sponsors

MHMRA of Brazos Valley

jeast@mhmrabv.org

 

Connie Cisneros

Chair, Local Arrangements/Silent Auction

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair/Consumer Stipends

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Carson Easley

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

carson.easley@mhmraharris.org

 

Steve Fitzner

Consumer Stipends

Spindletop Center

sfitz2000@sbcglobal.net

 

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.

Local Arrangements

Mexia State School

charlotte.kimmel@dads.state.tx.us

 

Vanessa Miller

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

vanessa.miller@mhmraharris.org

 

Jake Pinner

Consumer Stipends

jakechoir@yahoo.com

Maria Quintero, Ph.D.

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

maria.quintero@mhmraharris.org

 

Melissa Rasco

Chair, Silent Auction/Local Arrangements

CALAB

mrasco@calabinc.com

 

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.,

Program/Local Arrangements

Texas State University – San Marcos

ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com

 

Lisa Shelby

Consumer Stipends/Exhibitors/Sponsors

lisa.shelby@atcic.org

 

Claudia Southern

Exhibitors/Sponsors

Southern Concepts, Inc.

claudia@scitx.net

 

Maya Vega

Silent Auction

Austin Travis County Integral Care

maya.vega@atcic.org

 

Dion White

Chair, Awards/Nominations/Local Arrangements

Center for Life Resources

dion@cflr.us

 

Debbie Youngblood

Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors

Daybreak Community Services

debbiey@daybreakcommunity.com