February, 2015

Convention Report

Connie Cisneros, Tropical Texas Behavioral Health
AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee Chair

Guess who is turning 40?   AAIDD Texas Chapter will be having its 40th annual convention in sunny Corpus Christi on July 28th through the 31st.  The convention will be held at the Omni Hotel located right off the waters of the gulf.  Our Planning  committee is preparing for a convention that will provide information and resources to support persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD), their families, advocates, direct support staff and other professionals working in the IDD field.

 

The Call for Papers has been released I ask for your support by submitting presentations and/or recommending to your colleagues and friends to share their research, best practices, and expertise in the IDD field by submitting presentations for our convention.  I would also ask that you support the convention by being a sponsor.  Contact members of our Exhibitors/Sponsors sub-committee or any member of the Planning Committee to learn more about our sponsorship levels.

 

 

 

40th Annual Convention Committee

Connie Cisneros, Chair

Program/Local Arrangements/Awards/Nominations

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Margo Childs

Awards/Nominations

MHMRA of Harris County

margo.childs@mhmraharris.org

 

Connie Cisneros

Chair, Local Arrangements/Silent Auction

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair/Consumer Stipends

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Carson Easley

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

carson.easley@mhmraharris.org

 

Jermaine East

Awards/Nominations/Exhibitors/Sponsors

MHMRA of Brazos Valley

jeast@mhmrabv.org

 

Steve Fitzner

Exhibitors/Sponsors

Spindletop Center

sfitz2000@sbcglobal.net

 

Andy Griffin, Ph.D.

Program

Mexia State School

andrew.griffin@dads.state.tx.us 

 

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.

Local Arrangements

Mexia State School

charlotte.kimmel@dads.state.tx.us

 

Vanessa Miller

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

vanessa.miller@mhmraharris.org

Cheryl Petty

Consumer Stipends

Austin Travis County Integral Care

cheryl.petty@atcic.org

 

Jake Pinner

Consumer Stipends

jakechoir@yahoo.com

 

Maria Quintero, Ph.D.

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

maria.quintero@mhmraharris.org

 

Melissa Rasco, Chair

Silent Auction/Local Arrangements

CALAB

mrasco@calabinc.com

 

Bernadette Richardson

Kenmar Residential Services

bernadetter@kenmartx.com 

 

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.,

Program

Texas State University – San Marcos

ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com

 

Lisa Shelby

Consumer Stipends

lisa.shelby@atcic.org

 

Claudia Southern

Silent Auction

Southern Concepts, Inc.

claudia@scitx.net

 

Dion White, Chair

Local Arrangements

Center for Life Resources

dion@cflr.us

 

Debbie Youngblood, Chair

Exhibitors/Sponsors

Daybreak Community Services

debbiey@daybreakcommunity.com