February, 2018

Convention Report

Melissa Whitworth
AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee Chair

Here we go again! 


The AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee has already been working to host another great convention this year.  This year’s event will be held July 24-27 at The Omni Corpus Christi, in beautiful Corpus Christi, Texas.  With so many great informational sessions, a week of relaxation and learning this summer, down on the Gulf. Come join us if you’re looking to enhance your career goals, more strongly advocate for a friend or family member, or just want to brainstorm and network with some top experts in the field.


Our Planning Committee includes our Texas Chapter Board members and other creative members of this organization.  We’ve taken your suggestions from past conventions and are putting them to good use in our planning sessions. This year you can look forward to some great additions to the programs including “hands on” trainings you or your direct support professionals can put to use in everyday situations. You can also look forward to real life stories from family and self-advocates thriving in our communities and breaking down barriers along the way. We’ll provide some great take home items you can use to educate teams and families in the future. Upon conclusion of the Convention, you can also count on a direct web link for all presentations.


The Convention theme this year is: Recover. Rebuild. Rejuvenate. Because our great state of Texas experienced so many disasters and changes last year, we want to take this time to reflect and build on things learned over the past 12 months.  Recover. Rebuild. Rejuvenate. Three little words have come to mean so much, for all of us. Some things that won’t change are our commitment to the pre-convention ethics workshop, those  informative billing and training sessions you’ve come to value, as well as the great networking opportunities during the week. 


The Call for Papers has been released and the Convention Committee ask for your support by submitting presentations and/or recommending to your colleagues and friends to share their research, best practices, and expertise in the IDD field. We need you!  If you aren’t able to present, please consider one of the many levels of sponsorship. For sponsorship opportunities, please contact any member of our committee or board for more information. We could not do this without our great presenters and sponsors!


Whether you’re a family member, a self-advocate, a direct support professional or a licensed clinician – you’ll gain something from this year’s convention! Get registered early and plan to join us this summer in the fun and the sun! There’s something for everyone!  We can’t wait to see you!

 

Looking forward to seeing each of you!

43rd Annual Convention Committee

Melissa Whitworth, Chair

Program, Awards/Nominations, Consumer Stipends

Bluebonnet Trails Community Services

melissa.whitworth@bbtails.org

 

Justin Botter

Mosaic South Central Texas

Justin.botter@mosaicinfo.org

 

Margo Childs

Silent Auction

The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD

margo.childs@theharriscenter.org

 

Connie Cisneros

Chair, Local Arrangements

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair, Consumer Stipends, Awards/Nominations

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Ashley Cupples (John Harper)

Silent Auction, Consumer Stipends

Jtharper61@hotmail.com

Lawrence Davis
Exhibitors/Sponsors
Unicorn Centers, Inc.
ldavis@mrmsat.org

Steve Fitzner
Exhibitors/Sponsors
steve.fitzner@stctr.org

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D
Local Arrangements
cmkimmelphd@att.net

Cheryl Petty
Chair, Silent Auction
Integral Care
cheryl.petty@integralcare.org

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.
Awards/Nominations
Texas State University
ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com 

Lisa Shelby
Consumer Stipends
Integral Care
lisa.shelby@integralcare.org

Dion White
Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors, Silent Auction
Center for Life Resources
dion@cflr.us