top of page

June, 2016

Convention Report

Ollie Seay, Ph.D., Texas State University
AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee Chair

Are you ready to join us in “Taking a Stand for Independence” in San Antonio this summer?  We will return to the home of the Alamo as we host our 41st Annual Convention at the Westin Riverwalk July 19-22.  The Convention Committee has been hard at work putting together a memorable convention that is sure to have something for everyone whether you are a consumer, a family member, a direct care provider, an administrator, or a professional.  This is the convention for you!  


We have lined up some special presentations that address everything from art to sibling involvement, from history to applied behavior analysis, from ethics to aging, from HCS billing to health and wellness promotion, from fair housing to a state leader panel, and from culturally competent support to creating a positive work and life culture.  Our keynote speaker, Archer Hadley, is an inspiring young man with cerebral palsy who has made great strides in creating possibilities for himself and others.  The Unicorn Steppers will once again perform at the opening ceremony as well.  We have Pre-Convention Workshops on Ethics and Aging.  In addition, we have planned many opportunities for you to meet with friends or make new acquaintances.  The breaks will be held in the room with the Silent Auction which should give you plenty of time to peruse the items and get your bids in early.  Word has it that there will be excellent items this year.   Our closing session on Friday morning will be the State Leader Panel where we will hear what’s in store for the next year and have an opportunity to ask questions.  Continuing education/professional development hours for Psychologists, LPCs, and Social Workers have already been approved for specific sessions meeting requirements of the Texas Psychological Association, and further approval for other sessions is provided through Austin Travis County Integral Care.  


Please the sure to check out all the details here.  We are looking forward to seeing you at this convention!



41st Annual Convention Committee

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D., Chair


Texas State University – San Marcos


Eva Aguirre 

Silent Auction/Exhibitors/Sponsors

The Center 


Connie Cisneros, Chair

Chair, Local Arrangements/


Tropical Texas Behavioral Health


Margo Childs

Awards/Nominations, Consumer Stipends/

Silent Auction/Exhibitors/Sponsors

MHMRA of Harris County


Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair, Consumer Stipends


Jermaine East


MHMRA of Brazos Valley


Steve Fitzner


Spindletop Center


Austin Hubbard

Consumer Stipends

Center for Life Resources

Andy Griffin, Ph.D.



Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.

Program/Local Arrangements

Cheryl Petty

Consumer Stipends/Silent Auction


Melissa Rasco

Chair, Silent Auction/Local Arrangements



Bernadette Richardson

Local Arrangements/Silent Auction

Kenmar Residential Services 


Lisa Shelby

Program/Consumer Stipends

Austin Travis County Integral Care


Dion White

Chair, Local Arrangements

Center for Life Resources


Melissa Whitworth

Local Arrangements

Bluebonnet Trails Community Services 


Debbie Youngblood

Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors

Daybreak Community Services

bottom of page