June, 2022
Convention Report

Toye Babb, AAIDD Texas Chapter President Elect and Convention Committee Chair

As the fall convention approaches, the AAIDD Texas Chapter convention committee has worked diligently to schedule an array of interesting presentations.

Sessions relate to day to day involvement with those with IDD and autism from both a professional perspective as well as the viewpoint of recipients of services. Look forward to sessions on person centered practice, genetics, medical, and behavioral health/ issues/supports, forensics/criminal justice, music therapy, and self-advocacy/support/autonomy. 

 

We hope to continue increasing our Texas membership and convention attendance while providing an opportunity for continuing education and networking. Further, we also welcome donations of items to our silent auction by attendees.

 

The Hotel Galvez and the ambiance of Galveston will provide a welcome setting for our convention. We look forward to seeing you in Galveston!

 

46th AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee

Toye Babb
AAIDD Texas Chapter President-Elect and Convention Committee Chair

Advocate
toye.babb@gmail.com

 

Margo Childs

The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD

margo.childs@theharriscenter.org


Connie Cisneros

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

ellis.craig512@gmail.com

 

Sherri Gilliard
The Mentor Network
sherri.gilliard@thementornetwork.com

Kevin Kern

Center for Pursuit

kkern@thecenterforpursuit.org

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.

Independent Practice

cmkphd@yahoo.com

GeRon McGlory

Spindletop Center

geron.mcglory@stctr.org

 

Rachel Medina

LiveOak Living Community

rm@liveoakliving.com

 

Cheryl Petty

Integral Care

cheryl.petty@integralcare.org

 

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.

Texas State University

ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com  

 

Lisa Simmons

lisasimmons423@gmail.com

 

Dion White

Center for Life Resources

dion@cflr.us

 

Ken Winston

Integral Care

ken.winston@integralcare.org