March, 2016

Convention Report

Ollie Seay, Ph.D., Texas State University
AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee Chair

Is there life after 40?  Absolutely!  And AAIDD Texas Chapter is ready to show it in our 41st Annual Convention to be held in historic San Antonio at the Westin Riverwalk, July 19th through the 22nd.   In keeping with the spirit of our host city and our organization, the theme for this year’s meeting is, “Take a Stand for Independence.”  Our Convention Planning Committee has been hard at work lining up speakers and sessions that will serve to inform, inspire, and include all involved in supporting individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities from self-advocates, to families, to direct care, to providers, and a wide range of professionals.  

 

We are pleased to announce that our keynote speaker will be Archer Hadley, a remarkable young advocate who spearheaded a movement to raise money and install push button doors at his high school campus.  He and other students produced a film about his journey that has achieved recognition from the White House and will be featured at this year’s SXSW Film Festival.  Pre-convention workshops on aging and ethics will again be offered.  Continuing education/professional development hours for Psychologists, LPCs, and Social Workers have already been approved for specific sessions meeting requirements of the Texas Psychological Association, and further approval for other sessions is being sought through Austin Travis County Integral Care.  

 

We have extended the Call for Papers until March 25.  We welcome your submissions and hope you will pass the word on to colleagues who may also wish to present.  In addition, sponsors and exhibitors are always appreciated.  If you, or someone you know, are interested in these areas, please contact our Exhibitors/Sponsors sub-committee chair, Debbie Youngblood, or any members of the Convention Planning Committee.  

 

We look forward to seeing you in San Antonio!

 

 

40th Annual Convention Committee

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D., Chair

Program/Awards/Nominations

Texas State University – San Marcos

ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com

 

Eva Aguirre 

Silent Auction/Exhibitors/Sponsors

The Center

eaguirre@thecenterhouston.org 

 

Connie Cisneros, Chair

Chair, Local Arrangements/

Awards/Nominations

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Margo Childs

Awards/Nominations, Consumer Stipends/

Silent Auction/Exhibitors/Sponsors

MHMRA of Harris County

margo.childs@mhmraharris.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair, Consumer Stipends

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Jermaine East

Awards/Nominations/Exhibitors/Sponsors

MHMRA of Brazos Valley

jeast@mhmrabv.org

 

Steve Fitzner

Exhibitors/Sponsors

Spindletop Center

sfitz2000@sbcglobal.net

 

Austin Hubbard

Consumer Stipends

Center for Life Resources

Andy Griffin, Ph.D.

Program

ag90ag@sbcglobal.net 

 

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.

Program/Local Arrangements

kimmel88cm@aol.com

 

Melissa Rasco

Chair, Silent Auction/Local Arrangements

CALAB

mrasco@calabinc.com

 

Bernadette Richardson

Local Arrangements/Silent Auction

Kenmar Residential Services

bernadetter@kenmartx.com 

 

Lisa Shelby

Program/Consumer Stipends

Austin Travis County Integral Care

lisa.shelby@atcic.org

 

Dion White

Chair, Local Arrangements

Center for Life Resources

dion@cflr.us

 

Melissa Whitworth

Local Arrangements

Bluebonnet Trails Community Services

melissa.whitworth@bbtails.org 

 

Debbie Youngblood

Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors

Daybreak Community Services

debbiey@daybreakcommunity.com