May, 2018

Convention Report

Melissa Whitworth
AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee Chair

The Countdown Begins… Just a few more weeks until the start of the Annual Convention of the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities… As the Convention Program Committee is finalizing the details, we want to encourage you to get involved with the action. With so many great sessions and activities during the week, we don’t want anyone to be left out. In the coming weeks, I’d like to ask you to take some time to review the registration brochure, nominate a colleague for an award, become a sponsor, or simply spread the word about the great works happening in the IDD field.

 

Another great Convention event to look forward to is our silent auction! We’ll have all sorts of great items up for you to bid on with your friends and colleagues. Everything from wine baskets to great art pieces to jewelry, amazing gift certificates and anything in between – you’ll definitely want to get in on this! This is always a fun way to enjoy some friendly competition between friends and celebrate the winners of the auction items. Don’t miss it!

 

As your reviewing the registration brochure, pay close attention to the pre-convention workshops. Take advantage of this opportunity to learn more about Mental Health First Aid and how to apply it to IDD or the New Medication Updates for 2018. Both workshops are extremely informative but register early so you don’t miss out. It will fill up!

 

With so many incredible sessions during the week, it’s hard not to find something for everyone but don’t forget to take full advantage of the beautiful gulf coast. Take time to not only reflect on this past year but what’s to come in the future. The annual AAIDD Convention is an opportunity for anyone already involved or those just getting started to absorb knowledge and share a common bond. It’s a time to learn and a time to share experiences; make new friends; and network with potential partners. I encourage you to register early and familiarize yourself with all activities of the week. This 43rd Convention will be one you don’t want to miss! Don’t forget to register and reserve your hotel room!

 

Details for the convention on available here. Get involved, be involved, do great things!

43rd Annual Convention Committee

Melissa Whitworth, Chair

Program, Awards/Nominations, Consumer Stipends

Bluebonnet Trails Community Services

melissa.whitworth@bbtails.org

 

Justin Botter

Mosaic South Central Texas

Justin.botter@mosaicinfo.org

 

Margo Childs

Silent Auction

The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD

margo.childs@theharriscenter.org

 

Connie Cisneros

Chair, Local Arrangements

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair, Consumer Stipends, Awards/Nominations

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Ashley Cupples (John Harper)

Silent Auction, Consumer Stipends

Jtharper61@hotmail.com

Lawrence Davis
Exhibitors/Sponsors
Unicorn Centers, Inc.
ldavis@mrmsat.org

Steve Fitzner
Exhibitors/Sponsors
steve.fitzner@stctr.org

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D
Local Arrangements
cmkimmelphd@att.net

Rachel Medina

LiveOak Living Community

rm@liveoakliving.com

 

Cheryl Petty
Chair, Silent Auction
Integral Care
cheryl.petty@integralcare.org

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.
Awards/Nominations
Texas State University
ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com 

Lisa Shelby
Consumer Stipends
Integral Care
lisa.shelby@integralcare.org

Dion White
Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors, Silent Auction
Center for Life Resources
dion@cflr.us