November, 2014

Convention Report

Margo Childs, MHMRA of Harris County
AAIDD Texas Chapter’s Convention Committee Chair

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) - Texas Chapter held its 39th Annual Convention July 22-25, 2014 at the Westin Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas.  The 2014 Annual Convention providing an opportunity for all participants to network and celebrate everyday heroes we are professionals, direct support staff, self-advocates, and families sharing the same vision of improving the lives of persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

 

The Convention opened with a hearty welcome to all convention participants from Jermaine East, President, and acknowledgment and thank you to the Convention Planning Committee by Margo Childs, President Elect and Convention Chair and a heartfelt and uplifting performance by the Unicorn Steppers. The keynote address was presented by Carl D. Tapia, M.D., MPH, FAAP, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX. Dr. Tapia presented on New Landscapes for Children with Intellectual Developmental Disabilities (IDD), He addressed those children with medical complexity that have high needs, functional limitation and high health care utilization will be impacted by three policies of the Affordable Care Act (ACA): Medicaid expansion, private insurance expansion, and essential health benefits. 

 

Our breakout sessions were outstanding this year in the array of topics presented and the representation from key areas of the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services. The sessions were presented by experts and leaders in behavioral supports, nursing, medical and person directed planning who shared their knowledge and process to improved IDD services.

 

The Convention highlighted other specular events, such as the AAIDD Texas Chapter Awards Luncheon which celebrated and honored for their devoted commitments and service to persons with IDD.  We congratulate all of the 39th Annual Award winners.  Our Silent Auction was well supported and your participation was of great value to us. Our Convention’s closing session; “Creating a New Map for IDD Health Care Services” was phenomenal.  The Industry panel discussion focused on the impact of managed care, ACA for person with IDD and shared ideas about the 85th Texas Legislative session.

 

On behalf of the 2014 Convention Planning Committee, I would like to thank you for attending our annual convention. We “Celebrated Everyday Heroes” and want you to know that you are an important part of the mission  and success of AAIDD, TX.  Click here to find an entire list of the 2014 Award Winners, Sponsors, Committee members and photos of the event.  As we embark into the future, we hope to see you at our 40th Annual Convention, July 28 – 31, 2015 in Corpus Christi, Texas.  It’s our 40th birthday!!!

 

 

39th Annual Convention Committee

Margo Childs

Chair/Program/Awards/Nominations

MHMRA of Harris County

margo.childs@mhmraharris.org

 

Jermaine East

Awards/Nominations/Exhibitors/Sponsors

MHMRA of Brazos Valley

jeast@mhmrabv.org

 

Connie Cisneros

Chair, Local Arrangements/Silent Auction

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair/Consumer Stipends

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Carson Easley

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

carson.easley@mhmraharris.org

 

Steve Fitzner

Consumer Stipends

Spindletop Center

sfitz2000@sbcglobal.net

 

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.

Local Arrangements

Mexia State School

charlotte.kimmel@dads.state.tx.us

 

Vanessa Miller

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

vanessa.miller@mhmraharris.org

 

Jake Pinner

Consumer Stipends

jakechoir@yahoo.com

Maria Quintero, Ph.D.

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

maria.quintero@mhmraharris.org

 

Melissa Rasco

Chair, Silent Auction/Local Arrangements

CALAB

mrasco@calabinc.com

 

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.,

Program/Local Arrangements

Texas State University – San Marcos

ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com

 

Lisa Shelby

Consumer Stipends/Exhibitors/Sponsors

lisa.shelby@atcic.org

 

Claudia Southern

Exhibitors/Sponsors

Southern Concepts, Inc.

claudia@scitx.net

 

Maya Vega

Silent Auction

Austin Travis County Integral Care

maya.vega@atcic.org

 

Dion White

Chair, Awards/Nominations/Local Arrangements

Center for Life Resources

dion@cflr.us

 

Debbie Youngblood

Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors

Daybreak Community Services

debbiey@daybreakcommunity.com