November, 2015

Convention Report

Connie Cisneros, Tropical Texas Behavioral Health
AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee Chair

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) Texas Chapter celebrated its 40th Anniversary at its Annual Convention in Corpus Christi July 28 -31, 2015.  The theme of this year’s Convention was “VIVA 40!”  The Convention planning committee worked diligently to provide the best program that enhanced the quality of services and provided meaningful opportunities to exchange information and ideas to support persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD), their families, advocates, direct support staff and other professionals working in the IDD field.

 

The Convention opened with Dianne Gray, our keynote speaker, discussing the pivotal roles of hope, meaningfulness and resilience and how research reflects the key roles and interconnection of each of us as we strive for more contented lives personally and professionally.  Our breakout sessions were outstanding this year with our array of topics.  Other Convention highlights devoted to serving persons with IDD.  The sessions closed with a State Leader Panel Discussion on the future of services in Texas for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

 

In spite of all the challenges we face, we must continue to focus on quality services for our IDD population.  I hope that all of you took the opportunity to form new relationships, unite with colleagues to network and share resources from all areas of our Great State of Texas and beyond.

 

On behalf of the 2015 Convention Planning Committee, I would like to thank each of you for attending our Annual Convention and participating in our celebratory milestone.  I would also like to recognize our 2015 Award winners, sponsors and committee members.  Hope to see you at our 2016 Convention which will be held July 19 – 22, 2016 at the Westin Riverwalk in San Antonio!

 

 

 

40th Annual Convention Committee

Connie Cisneros, Chair

Program/Local Arrangements/

Awards/Nominations

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Margo Childs

Awards/Nominations

MHMRA of Harris County

margo.childs@mhmraharris.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D., Chair

Consumer Stipends

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Carson Easley

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

carson.easley@mhmraharris.org

 

Jermaine East, Chair

Awards/Nominations/Exhibitors/Sponsors

MHMRA of Brazos Valley

jeast@mhmrabv.org

 

Steve Fitzner

Exhibitors/Sponsors

Spindletop Center

sfitz2000@sbcglobal.net

 

Andy Griffin, Ph.D.

Program

Mexia State School

andrew.griffin@dads.state.tx.us 

 

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.

Local Arrangements

Mexia State School

charlotte.kimmel@dads.state.tx.us

 

Vanessa Miller

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

vanessa.miller@mhmraharris.org

Cheryl Petty

Consumer Stipends

Austin Travis County Integral Care

cheryl.petty@atcic.org

 

Jake Pinner

Consumer Stipends

jakechoir@yahoo.com

 

Maria Quintero, Ph.D.

Program

MHMRA of Harris County

maria.quintero@mhmraharris.org

 

Melissa Rasco, Chair

Silent Auction

CALAB

mrasco@calabinc.com

 

Bernadette Richardson

Kenmar Residential Services

bernadetter@kenmartx.com 

 

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.

Program

Texas State University – San Marcos

ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com

 

Lisa Shelby

Consumer Stipends

lisa.shelby@atcic.org

 

Claudia Southern

Silent Auction

Southern Concepts, Inc.

claudia@scitx.net

 

Dion White, Chair

Local Arrangements

Center for Life Resources

dion@cflr.us

 

Melissa Whitworth

Bluebonnet Trails Community Services

 

Debbie Youngblood, Chair

Exhibitors/Sponsors

Daybreak Community Services

debbiey@daybreakcommunity.com