October, 2013

Convention Report

Jermaine East, MHMRA of Brazos Valley

AAIDD Texas Chapter's Convention Committee Chair

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) – Texas Chapter held its 38th Annual Convention July 23-26, 2013 at the Westin Galleria in Houston Texas.  The 2013 Annual Convention served as an opportunity for participants to collaborate with professionals, direct support staff, self-advocates, and families who share a vision of connecting communities for the improvement of the lives of persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities.   What a successful time we had in Houston!! 

 

The Convention opened with a formal flag presentation by the Color Guard of Cesar E. Chavez High School (Houston ISD) and heartfelt and uplifting music by Harris County MHMRA Voices of Harmony Choir.  The keynote address was presented by Matt Janicki, Ph.D, Associate Research Professor at the Lifespan Health and Function Department at the University of Illinois at Chicago.  Dr. Janicki addressed changing demographics and changing life needs of older people with intellectual disabilities, noting several challenges of aging in this population and how service organizations can become better prepared for serving persons who are aging.   

 

The “break out” sessions proved to be another great success with an array of IDD topics in various interests including behavioral support, nursing/medical related, and person directed planning.  The “break out” sessions were presented by experts and leaders in the field of IDD who shared their knowledge and processes as a network to improving IDD services in Texas. 

 

Other special events of the Convention included the Annual AAIDD Texas Chapter Awards Luncheon, where dedicated persons serving in the IDD field were honored for their outstanding commitments.  Congratulations to this year’s Award winners.  This year’s Convention continued with our Silent Auction Event. The overwhelming support and participation in our Silent Auction event is much appreciated. The Convention closed with a panel discussing from State and Local leaders discussing legislative updates from the recent Session as well as current trends, strengths, and challenges in the IDD field and how they may impact persons in Texas. 

 

On behalf of the 2013 Convention Planning Committee I would like to thank everyone who participated in the Annual Convention:  volunteers, presenters, sponsors, and participants.  Each of you share an integral part of the success and function of this Association and you are appreciated.  It’s now time for us to look forward.  As you plan ahead, I ask you to set your schedule to attend the 39th Annual Convention, July 22-25, 2014 in San Antonio Texas. You will find the complete list of 2013 Award Winners and Sponsors, along with photos here.

 

38th Annual Convention Committee

Jermaine East

Chair/Program/Awards/Nominations

MHMRA of Brazos Valley
jeast@mhmrabv.org



Margo Childs

Chair/Local Arrangements

MHMRA of Harris County
margo.childs@mhmraharris.org



Connie Cisneros

Silent Auction
Tropical Texas Behavioral Health
ccisnero@ttbh.org 



Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair/Consumer Stipends
ecraig1@austin.rr.com



Carson Easley

Nursing CEUs

MHMRA of Harris County

carson.easley@mhmraharris.org

 

Michelle Garcia, Psy.D.

Michelle Garcia, Psy.D. & Associates
michelle@drmgarcia.com



Andy Griffin, Ph.D.

Program
Mexia State School
andrew.griffin@dads.state.tx.us



Shelly Heck

Chair/Awards/Nominations
Daybreak Community Services
shellyh@daybreakcommunity.com



Charlotte Kimmel

Ph.D., Local Arrangements
Mexia State School
charlotte.kimmel@dads.state.tx.us

Vanessa Miller

MHMRA of Harris County

vanessa.miller@mhmraharris.org

 

Jake Pinner

jakechoir@yahoo.com


Maria Quintero, Ph.D.

Local Arrangements
MHMRA of Harris County
maria.quintero@mhmraharris.org



Melissa Rasco

Chair/Silent Auction
CALAB, Inc.
mrasco@calabinc.com



Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.

Program
Texas State University – San Marcos
ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com



Lisa Shelby

Consumer Stipends
Austin Travis County Integral Care
lisa.shelby@atcic.org



Claudia Southern

Exhibitors/Sponsors
Southern Concepts, Inc.
claudia@scitx.net



Maya Vega

Silent Auction
Austin Travis County Integral Care
maya.vega@atcic.org



Dion White

Awards/Nominations
Center for Life Resources
dion@cflr.us



Debbie Youngblood

Chair/Exhibitors/Sponsors
Daybreak Community Services
debbiey@daybreakcommunity.com