February, 2019

Convention Report

Charlotte M. Kimmel, Ph.D.
AAIDD Texas Chapter President-Elect and Convention Committee Chair

The AAIDD Texas Chapter will be holding their 44th Annual Convention on July 23 - 26, 2019 near the Gulf Coast at the beautiful Omni in Corpus Christi.  We hope that you and your colleagues will join us for this informative and enriching conference which will also provide time to enjoy the local beaches including the Padre Island National Seashore. It is also an opportunity to bring your family who can relax at this spectacular hotel, tour the many local attractions including the Texas State Aquarium, or enjoy the sea and sand during your time in Corpus. 


The Convention Committee is planning a conference that will provide opportunities for networking as well as education and training for professionals, direct support staff, self-advocates and family members with current information on providing services and dealing with issues relevant for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. As a leader in your agency or organization, we invite you to support AAIDD Texas Chapter by submitting a presentation, encouraging your staff to participate in the conference, and enabling staff to attend this conference.


The conference theme this year fits with the location of the conference and is “Navigating Change: Sailing to the Future” as we are all required to deal with changes in regulations and service requirements, while looking to the future of services requested and needed by families and persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities. The Convention Committee is working to provide speakers and sessions that will help inspire and inform service providers, families, and self-advocates so they can navigate required changes while developing future services and supports.

 

The Conference Call for Papers has been sent out and we invite you to submit a presentation or encourage your staff to do so. The deadline for submissions is Friday, March 1, 2019. The Convention Committee is looking forward to reviewing your submissions. Please also consider supporting the convention by being a sponsor or exhibitor. Contact members of our Exhibitors/Sponsors sub-committee or any member of the Planning Committee to learn more about these opportunities.

 

We look forward to seeing you in Corpus Christi in July! Thanks for your support!

AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D, Chair 
Program, Awards/Nominations
cmkimmelphd@att.net

 

Justin Botter

Program
Mosaic South Central Texas

Justin.botter@mosaicinfo.org

 

Margo Childs

Silent Auction

The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD

margo.childs@theharriscenter.org

 

Connie Cisneros

Local Arrangements

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair, Consumer Stipends, Awards/Nominations

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Ashley Cupples (John Harper)

Silent Auction, Consumer Stipends

Jtharper61@hotmail.com

Lawrence Davis
Exhibitors/Sponsors
Unicorn Centers, Inc.
ldavis@mrmsat.org

Steve Fitzner
Exhibitors/Sponsors
Spindletop Center
steve.fitzner@stctr.org

Rachel Medina

Silent Auction
LiveOak Living Community

rm@liveoakliving.com

 

Cheryl Petty
Chair, Silent Auction
Integral Care
cheryl.petty@integralcare.org

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.
Program
Texas State University
ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com 

Lisa Shelby
Consumer Stipends
Integral Care
lisa.shelby@integralcare.org

Dion White
Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors
Center for Life Resources
dion@cflr.us 

Melissa Whitworth

Awards/Nominations

Bluebonnet Trails Community Services

melissa.whitworth@bbtails.org