February, 2020

Convention Report

Cheryl Petty
AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee Chair

“Supporting the IDD Community for 45 Years!”  AAIDD Texas Chapter will be celebrating our 45th Annual Convention on July 28-31, 2020.  WOW!  We hope that you will join us for this enriching conference which will also provide time for you to enjoy the Beautiful Corpus Christi Bay! It is also an opportunity to bring your family who can relax at the hotel, tour the many local attractions that include the Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington Aircraft Carrier and Museum, many wonderful restaurants, or just relax and enjoy the sea and sand during your time in Corpus.  

 

In the last 45 years, Texas has made improvements in services to shift access for people with IDD to community-based services that include the IDD Waiver programs, school systems that provide the appropriate education to children with IDD along with training and employment opportunities for individuals with IDD. Services and programs for these individuals are intended to foster self-determination, community inclusion and improve their quality of life. We have come a long way with still more work to do!

 

The Convention Committee is planning a conference that will provide opportunities for networking as well as education and training for professionals, direct support staff, self-advocates and family members with current information on providing services and dealing with issues relevant for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. We want to again send out a special thank you to the Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities (TCDD) for funding opportunities. Through TCDD the conference committee applies for funding to support consumers and family members to attend the convention by funding travel and meal expenses. The funds help with expenses for our keynote speaker as well.  

 

The Conference Call for Papers has been sent out and we invite you as a leader in your agency or organization to support AAIDD Texas Chapter by submitting a presentation, encouraging your staff to participate in the conference, and enabling staff to attend the convention. The deadline for submissions is Friday, March 6, 2020. The Convention Committee is looking forward to reviewing your submissions. Please consider supporting the convention by being a sponsor or exhibitor as well.  Contact members of our Exhibitors/Sponsors sub-committee or any member of the Planning Committee to learn more about these opportunities.

 

We are looking forward to seeing you in Corpus Christi in July! 

45TH ANNUAL CONVENTION COMMITTEE

Cheryl Petty
AAIDD Texas Chapter President-Elect and Convention Committee Chair

Program
Integral Care
cheryl.petty@integralcare.org

 

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.
Program, Awards/Nominations
cmkimmelphd@att.net

Margo Childs

Silent Auction

The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD

margo.childs@theharriscenter.org

 

Connie Cisneros

Local Arrangements, Silent Auction

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair, Consumer Stipends, Awards/Nominations

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Ashley Cupples (John Harper)

Silent Auction, Consumer Stipends

Jtharper61@hotmail.com

Lawrence Davis
Exhibitors/Sponsors
Integral Care
lawrence.davis@integralcare.org

Rachel Medina

Silent Auction

LiveOak Living Community

rm@liveoakliving.com

Toye Babb
Spindletop Center
Toye.Babb@stctr.org

Kevin Kern
Center for Pursuit
kkern@thecenterforpursuit.org

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.
Program
Texas State University
ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com 

Brooke Shelby
D&S Community Services brooke.shelby@dscommunity.com

Lisa Shelby
Consumer Stipends
Integral Care
lisa.shelby@integralcare.org

Dion White
Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors
Center for Life Resources
dion@cflr.us