February, 2022
Convention Report

Toye Babb, AAIDD Texas Chapter President Elect and Convention Committee Chair
Waves of Changes: AAIDD Texas Chapter 46th Annual Convention

 

During the past couple of years, those involved in the IDD field have faced waves of changes.


We have been faced with developing adaptations in service delivery to those in the IDD population as well as revising interactions with coworkers, parents, advocates, and the community at large. Despite ongoing challenges, we continue to be resilient, to evolve, and to be creative in our efforts to address our daily endeavors. One such adaptation is the AAIDD Texas Chapter 46th Annual Convention…new location, new season! Our fall convention will be held in Galveston November 15 - 18, 2022. The newly renovated and historic Grand Galvez will host our convention in the beachside city known for dining, entertainment, and shopping. Please reserve these dates so you can participate in the convention, earn those coveted continuing education units, and enjoy the view and camaraderie in Galveston.

 

46th AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee

Toye Babb
AAIDD Texas Chapter President-Elect and Convention Committee Chair

Advocate
toye.babb@gmail.com

 

Margo Childs

The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD

margo.childs@theharriscenter.org


Connie Cisneros

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

ellis.craig512@gmail.com

 

Sherri Gilliard
The Mentor Network
herri.gilliard@thementornetwork.com

Kevin Kern

Center for Pursuit

kkern@thecenterforpursuit.org

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.

Independent Practice

cmkphd@yahoo.com

GeRon McGlory

Spindletop Center

geron.mcglory@stctr.org

 

Rachel Medina

LiveOak Living Community

rm@liveoakliving.com

 

Cheryl Petty

Integral Care

cheryl.petty@integralcare.org

 

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.

Texas State University

ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com  

 

Lisa Simmons

lisasimmons423@gmail.com

 

Dion White

Center for Life Resources

dion@cflr.us

 

Ken Winston

Integral Care

ken.winston@integralcare.org