June, 2020

Convention Report

Cheryl Petty
AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee Chair

After much deliberation the AAIDD Texas Chapter Board of Directors have decided to reschedule the 45th AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention originally scheduled for July 28-31, 2020 in Corpus Christi, Texas. Our first priority is the health and safety of our members, supporters, vendors and volunteers. As the COVID-19 pandemic unfolds, it has become clear that in the face of this unprecedented situation, we needed to make this tough choice.

 

We are excited to announce that we were able to schedule next year’s convention for the week of July 27 - 30, 2021. Same city, same hotel, so mark your calendars. We are also excited to say that our keynote speakers and presenters will remain the same for next year!


The coronavirus has turned our world upside down. Our lives are uncertain, we feel scared, nothing is “normal” and it is “normal” to feel this way. Give yourself permission to have off days without feeling guilty. Plan activities that have a positive effect and that motivate you! Take care of yourself, your family and friends and we will see you next year in Corpus!

45th AAIDD Texas Chapter Convention Committee

Cheryl Petty
AAIDD Texas Chapter President-Elect and Convention Committee Chair

Program
Integral Care
cheryl.petty@integralcare.org

 

Charlotte Kimmel, Ph.D.
Program, Awards/Nominations
cmkimmelphd@att.net

Margo Childs

Silent Auction

The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD

margo.childs@theharriscenter.org

 

Connie Cisneros

Local Arrangements, Silent Auction

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health

ccisnero@ttbh.org

 

Pat Craig, Ph.D.

Chair, Consumer Stipends, Awards/Nominations

ecraig1@austin.rr.com

 

Ashley Cupples (John Harper)

Silent Auction, Consumer Stipends

Jtharper61@hotmail.com

Lawrence Davis
Exhibitors/Sponsors
Integral Care
lawrence.davis@integralcare.org

Rachel Medina

Silent Auction

LiveOak Living Community

rm@liveoakliving.com

Toye Babb
Spindletop Center
Toye.Babb@stctr.org

Kevin Kern
Center for Pursuit
kkern@thecenterforpursuit.org

Ollie, Seay, Ph.D.
Program
Texas State University
ollieseayphd@austin.rr.com 

Brooke Shelby
D&S Community Services brooke.shelby@dscommunity.com

Lisa Shelby
Consumer Stipends
Integral Care
lisa.shelby@integralcare.org

Dion White
Chair, Exhibitors/Sponsors
Center for Life Resources
dion@cflr.us